The Brodie's Junior League baseball team for 13-14 year olds had a big run through District 35 this year, winning the inter-league Championship. The team was managed by Carlos Perez, assisted by Brad Van Tighem and Jim Thomsen.

Brodie's had an up and down first few games of the year before settling down and finishing with a record of 11-4-1. Like all Juniors teams from Petaluma, Brodies was made up of players from the Valley, National and American Little Leagues. This made for an interesting dynamic of players getting to play with former rivals, and some even meeting for the first time. The coaches represented both the Valley and American Little Leagues.

Brodie's began playoff baseball on June 10 as part of a 15-team bracket that was competing for the District 35 South Championship.

Brodie's first opponent was Robison Construction from Petaluma's National League. Aaron Van Tighem and Christina Wilson combined for the win, allowing no runs and only three hits. The offense was led by Jared Robison, Van Tighem, Brandon Cota, Patrick Brodsky and Eric Riley, who combined for six hits and drove in six of the team's seven runs.

Brodie's next opponent was the West Side Giants of Santa Rosa, who had previously beaten Brodie's, 8-3. The game was played at Cook Junior High in Santa Rosa. It was a close extra-inning game with Robison pitching strong into the eighth inning, with a 1-1 tie before Patrick Brodsky came in from third base to get the save in a 3-1 Brodie's win. The winning runs were scored in the top of the eighth inning when Robison singled and Eric Riley reached on an error. Robison scored on the throwing error that allowed Riley on base and Riley ultimately scored on an Eric Reed double.

Brodie's next was able to squeak by the Rockies from the Rincon Valley Little League. Brodie's took a commanding 10-5 lead into the fifth inning behind the pitching of Patrick Brodsky and the strong hitting of Brodsky (three RBIs), Robison (three RBIs), Cota (one RBI) and Riley (one RBI) as well as Van Tighem's timely base running (two runs scored). However, several error-marred innings led to a nail-biting finish with Brodie's pulling out a 10-9 victory.

The South Area championship was an all Petaluma affair between Brodie's and Anytime Fitness from the Petaluma American Little League. This was a defensive battle that showcased pitching and defense. Van Tighem threw a complete game shutout for a 3-0 win. Brodie's defense turned in two double plays as well as some spectacular glove work by both the infield and outfield. Van Tighem allowed two hits and two walks through seven strong innings. Anytime Fitness battled through all seven innings. Nick Eaton turned in a great pitching performance, only allowing the three runs. The stingy Anytime outfield turned in two great catches by Matt Pierson and Travis Voight. Brodie's offiense was provided by Brodsky (one for three), Christina Wilson (three for four) and Reed (one for two).

The win crowned Brodie's as the South Area champions and sent it to Doyle Park to face El Molino in the championship game. El Molino had swept through the North Bracket, winning many of its games by double digits.

The championship game on June 17 began with Brodie's jumping out to an 8-1 lead after two innings and a 10-2 lead after four. Brodie's rode the strong pitching of Jared Robison and good at bats from a number of players that produced runs via walks and timely hitting. Reed drove in three runs, and both Zach Orella and Brodsky drove in runs as well.

However, due to a technical problem the game was suspended as the lights would not turn on. The umpires were forced to suspend the game until June 21.

Both teams returned to finish the game. Over the final three innings, Robison did not allow a hit by the El Molino side and Riley's double was the only hit from the Brodie's side.

When the final three innings were complete, Brodie's took too possession of the championship trophy and banner that they had earned by winning the District 35 Inter-League Championship.

The Brodie's team consists of manager Carlos Perez, coaches Brad Van Tighem and Jim Thomsen and the following Players: Aaron Van Tighem, Patrick Brodsky, Brandon Cota, Thomas Cracaft, Zach Orella, Jack Leonetti, Eric Reed, Eric Riley, Jared Robison, Jack Terry, Kyle Thomsen and Christina Wilson.